Waylon: One Year

One year ago today at 12:23am, Waylon Tiger Baer entered the world at 7 pounds, 11 ounces, 21.5 inches long.

He was a tiny thing, all wrinkly, red, and loud. But I loved him even though we were strangers.

One year later and we are attached at the hip (also known as the breast) and the heart.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I know I’m supposed to say, “I can’t believe it’s been a year,” but the thing is–I can believe it. I lived every diaper, every cry, every crinkled smile.

I lived this year more presently than any other year of my life, and for that I am thankful.

Happy 1st Birthday, Baby Boy.

You are loved.

***

43 comments

  1. tearing up. love him, love you.

    also, i feel like saying “congratulations”. I guess it’s not a normal birthday response, but it seems appropriate.

  2. I love this! Such a handsome little boy you have there! And I totally agree with how you feel when people say, “Can you believe it’s been a whole year?!” I always felt like… well yes I can because I have lived the whole thing and experienced so many new things and grown in ways I couldn’t imagine. It is all such an amazing, scary ride… here’s to another year! You are such a good mama!

  3. Precious. :) He is looking more and more like a little boy. It is amazing how much they grow and learn in that first year.

    Happy Birthday, Waylon!

  4. what a sweet video. you have done an incredible job documenting so many memories. have a fabulous time celebrating all of your hard work and that beautiful not-so-baby boy.

  5. Love this post, Kate.
    I can believe it. I lived every diaper, every cry, every crinkled smile.
    I think that’s my favorite part.
    Happy Birthday, Waylon! And happy birth day, Kate!

  6. Happy Birthday, WT! One day, you will thank your wonderful mama for creating such an awesome video for you to enjoy. My generation was lucky to have still pictures. You’ll be able to relive your babyhood. Many happy years to grow and to love!
    xoxo

  7. Waylon!!!!!! Birthday boy in your dipe with your kicks on. So so cute. I’ll come back to watch the video when I get an extra second to cry my eyes out about a little baby boy I’ve never met but love.

  8. Pingback: Four | Kate Baer

Say hello.

