Colic

I have a confession. I’ve been keeping it a secret for a few weeks now and it’s time to come clean.

The truth is little Waylon has a case of the colic.

I didn’t want to tell you because I didn’t want you to think my precious boy was any less cute or perfect or wonderful. I also didn’t want you to feel sorry for me or my baby or worry that I’d throw him out the window.

It all started shortly after the move to our new small town and has slowly gotten worse with time. Here’s how it goes down: He eats. He burps. He smiles. He is happy as a clam. Then, out of nowhere, he completely freaks out like a little lunatic baby.

I feel just awful about it too, because I know his stomach hurts and there’s nothing I can to do to help. I’ve tried it all; cutting out spicy foods, moving his legs up and down, carting him around in the moby wrap. The problem is that when he’s in this funk, he’s in this funk. There is no soothing him. All we can do is hold and rock him while he kicks his legs and hollers like there is no tomorrow. If you’ve never seen or heard a colicky baby, just imagine hearing nails on a chalkboard while simultaneously staring at a sick kitten for a few hours straight. It’s upsetting and sad and always causes brief bouts of panic because this just cannot go on forever, right?

I don’t know what to do. Maybe you have a special trick I’m unaware of? Suggestions more than welcome. I did just recently purchase this gripe water out of desperation. I had been putting off using medicine, not wanting to put anything  in my baby’s mouth besides boob, but the reviews are fabulous and he’s just so unhappy. I’m also scared my ears are going to start bleeding soon. If this stuff works, you’ll be the first to know. I ordered it Tuesday night during a particularly long cry fest and almost paid twelve extra dollars to have it shipped the next day. Fortunately reason took hold and I am now waiting until Saturday for this alleged magic potion.

In the meantime, here are some pictures to remind you (and me) how happy and peaceful he can be:

PS: Anytime you hear a baby screaming and get that PLEASE STOP IT feeling–give the poor mama a sympathy nod and be grateful for your long nights of deep sleep.

 ***

16 comments

  1. Kate, no one is going to think less of little Baby Waylon..colic is “normal” for lots of babies… not to worry it wont last forever!!
    Now as far as losing his cuteness.. NEVER!! He is absolutely adorable!! I really need to see him soon!! xxoo

  2. You can try probiotic powder as well- my ped recommended them but little Z didn’t like the taste. I never tried “hiding” it in breastmilk but that’s a possibility as well. You can often find this at natural food stores or if you have a good pharmacy. This phase does pass but it is so painful.

  3. He is adorable! I understand your hesitation to give Waylon medications. My little girl had “silent reflux.” She spit up a bit more than an average baby, however it turns out she was spitting up alot more often while “keeping it in.” So she was experiencing the feeling of heartburn/acid burning in her throat when this would happen. After we started her on her prescribed medication, it did make a world of difference. Her spitting up significantly went down and she was so much happier. I thought she wasn’t getting enough breastmilk, because she kept wanting to nurse when she was screaming like that – the dr. said the milk was soothing her burning little throat. Who knew? I wish you all the best & I hope something does the trick for your cute little guy!

  4. Katie…I TOTALLY understand. Our oldest had a bad case of gastric reflux when he was little. He would nurse (for an hour…he was a poor sucker too!), burp, be happy, then start screaming and throw up (he could hit the other side of the room…and I’m NOT kidding!) Then he would want to nurse again. For the first 4 months of his life we were nursing every 1 1/2 – 2 hours 24 hours a day. It was exhausting and crazy. He never slept for more than that at a shot either. The doctors finally figured it out and got him on the right medicine, but I remember feeling horrible as a Mommy. Hang in there and know that this too shall pass. (I know…easier said on this side of the parent journey.) Let’s just say, our son is VERY lucky to have siblings! :-) Hugs to you!!!

  5. It’s cracking me up how much your blog is paralleling E’s!

    Re the colic: hang in there! I never had a baby with colic (at least not the full-blown variety) and I was always so grateful. It sounds like a brutal experience and my heart goes out to both of you.

  6. Have you ever heard of or read “The Happiest Baby On The Block”? Its great about colic and ways to soothe colicky and extremely fussy babies- I highly recommend.

      1. I’m almost through with the book, and I am hoping it will work for us when the time comes! It seems like really good techniques and a whole new outlook on the baby’s first 3 months!

  7. waylon couldn’t be any cuter, and there is really nothing that can change that! i’m glad you decided to share this little secret, it seems there is a lot of wisdom from other mamas. you’re a terrific mom and one day you will be passing on advice of how you got through this time.

  8. Catching up on your blog here and enjoying it. Love your photos! Here’s a thought that came to me when you shared about Waylon’s colic. Read the Psalms to him, paging through I found Ps. 71 or any of them. I never had a colicky baby, only fussy ones. Did I do this? no but I wish I had. Will it help colic? I sort of doubt it and maybe it’s better to read to him when he’s quiet. But it can never hurt to read the scriptures to our children, even when we think it won’t help our difficulty at the moment or they’re too young to understand. Not sure why this came to me but it did so I thought I’d share it.

  9. Hey there… Like Lindsey, I also read “The Happiest Baby on the Block”. Chloe had a bit of colic during the first few weeks. The 5 s’s worked like magic. It was amazing. That and the vacuum and blowdryer.

Say hello.

