Before You Were Born

Before you were born,
I drove with the windows down
and the music up.
Before you were born,
I had time, plenty of time, to do everything I wanted to do.
I read.
I wrote.
I brushed my teeth.
I had special time with Daddy.
Before you were born,
I was happy.
I was free.

 Before you were born,
I missed you.
I did not know your face,
your name,
how you smelled.
I could not picture your hands
or perfect feet,
but I missed you with all my being.

Before you were born,
you were in my dreams.
I dreamed of holding you,
kissing you,
feeling your skin against my skin.
I dreamed of our conversations,
how I would never forget to tell you
how much I love you.

Before you were born,
they said you could not be.
They said,
less than a one perfect chance.
Before you were born,
I ached for you,
cried for you,
prayed for you.
Before you were born,
they said–
it’s a miracle.

Before you were born,
I was happy.
I was free.
Before you were born,
I loved you
without knowing how much.

***

5 comments

Say hello.

