According to Waylon

Every morning I wake up with a long mental list of things I’d like to do and every night I go to bed with a long mental list of things I never did. This is probably because according to Waylon, this is how the day should look:

5am-6am: Wake up, eat, and refuse to be put back into the crib.

6am-9am: Doze on and off in bed with Mom and Dad with many breaks for vigorous snacking.

9am-2pm: Be awake and be held with many breaks for vigorous snacking. Refuse to be put down.

2pm-2:30pm: Eat a lot.

2:30pm-3:30pm: Sleep.

3:30pm-4pm: Eat.

4pm-6pm: Sleep.

6pm-9pm: Be awake and be held with many breaks for vigorous snacking. Maybe tolerate a walk.

9pm-9:15pm: Bath time with Daddy.

9:15pm-9:30pm: Be deliriously happy wrapped up in the bath towel. Poop in towel.

9:30pm-10pm: Eat.

10pm-12am: Sleep.

12am-12:30am: Eat.

12:30am-2:30am: Sleep.

2:30am-3am: Eat.

3am-5am: Sleep.

Start over.

Also be sure to schedule in plenty of time for dozens of diaper and outfit changes. And that’s a good day. A really good day. Bad days include a lot more gas and spit up (reflux) and a lot less sleep. If you’ve ever had a newborn, this is old news. For me, it’s brand new.

Other things that are brand new: constantly smelling like regurgitated breast-milk, falling asleep sitting upright, and forgetting to brush my teeth. But according to Waylon, this is life.

More to come.

***

4 comments

  1. I remember getting so frustrated about how much I was nursing my first that I started writing down every single time I had to lift my shirt. The list was very similar to yours.

Say hello.

