38 Weeks

I distinctly remember back in October when I first found out I was pregnant, looking through the various stages of fetus fruit and thinking–watermelon? No way. Now that I’m here–yes way. Even though Baby Baer is obviously not shaped like a watermelon, I certainly look like I swallowed one. Wasn’t he just the size of a lime? Though most of the time it feels like I’ve been pregnant forever, I’m also randomly hit with the realization that it wasn’t that long ago that I was telling Austin that– surprise, we’re going to be parents.

This week at my (now weekly) appointment with the midwives, they requested an ultrasound to make sure Baby Baer is in the right spot. Our appointment was at 10 this morning and all is well. He has plenty of amniotic fluid left and is pointed in the right direction. It won’t be long now. Bags are packed. Car-seat installed. We’re as “ready” as we’ll ever be (though I could probably stand to read a bit more about the holy terror of labor. I’m still in partial denial).

Thank you all (family, friends, readers) for your support and encouragement. I couldn’t do it without you.

7 comments

  1. Kate, I read MotleyMama every single day, you have grown in so many ways since last October (no pun intended) I love you very much and I am so proud of you!! xxoo

  2. Crying as I read that Baby Baer is about to arrive. Tears of joy might I add. Sounds like little man is ready and waiting for that special day. I can’t wait. You will do fine because in the end you know what you will be holding in your arms. We will be praying all will go well. loves and hugs, grams and pap xoxo

  3. Kate, thinking of you in these last couple weeks!! Everything will go great for you – I am sure of it. Looking forward to seeing pictures of your fresh little guy when he makes his appearance! :)

  4. I’ve been thinking about you often Kate, and I’m so glad to hear that Baby Baer is in the right position and soon ready to arrive! Keep taking good care of yourself and try to enjoy these last few days of your pregnancy :-)

Say hello.

