Do You Want To See Something Gross?

[I was not going to write this post.]

[Don’t worry, it’s not my mucus plug.]

As I mentioned earlier this week, Monday marked 2 years of marriage for Baby Daddy and I–a celebration I thought should be spent with a day at the beach. We decided to go on Tuesday to avoid Memorial Day traffic and so we woke up at the crack of dawn to be on the beach before ten and make a day of it. We brought Kenton along as well, for entertainment purposes.

I was excited.

Pre beach (36 Weeks)

The weather was wonderful. It was breezy and clear and there was plenty of space to spread out since most people were back at work or school. I spent the majority of the day parked in my beach chair by the edge of the water, reading a magazine and eating fresh pineapple, a fruit that is rumored to induce labor but is so far just giving me mouth sores.

Austin and Kenton got in the the water a few times to cool off or body board. I was jealous (I love to body board), but not that jealous because the water was 58 degrees. The rest of the time they threw balls at each other and fashioned things in the sand. I did not take pictures because it was windy and I didn’t want to get sand in my lens.

All this to say, it was a good day.

However. I got burned. Seriously burned. Despite slathering on loads of sunscreen all over my body as soon as we arrived, something malfunctioned and my skin sizzled. I only have myself to blame, though I assure you it was unintentional and I was not trying to imitate Snooki.

The worst part is that my already swollen feet (also known as edema) from pregnancy doubled in size after they were unintentionally cooked in the sun all day. By the time we got back to our apartment on Tuesday night, I was barely able to walk.

Obviously I will recover, and really this is not a complaint but more a sad story about what happens when skincare is not taken seriously. It was also my idea to go to the beach despite caution from my smarter half who said–are you sure?

My toes are still slightly purple from the lack of circulation, but I think I’m on the mend.

This is when I say, “Do you want to see something gross?”

Post beach and supersized.

Now that you’ve gasped in horror, please look away. I hope you didn’t lose your lunch.

11 comments

Say hello.

