Lumpy Loosey and a Weekend Update

Hello! I have returned from my weekend away and am still with child. Baby decided not to fall out all over the relatives (thank goodness) and I’m happy to report that after a brief visit with the midwife today, everyone is (mostly) as they should be.

Before I go on, I would like to clarify that I don’t see just one midwife. There are many at the practice and I have a hard time remembering any of their names (besides the one who is delivering our baby and goes to our church). Usually I just think and speak of them by their nicknames. There is Young Hot Midwife, Spiky Hair Midwife, Overly Touchy Midwife, Lumpy Loosey Midwife, and Barb.

Anyways, over the past few weeks the baby has been very active, constantly switching positions and swimming right side wrong. Today he was sideways, a very bony butt sticking out on one side with the head on the other. Lumpy Loosey said that’s just fine, but if at 36 weeks he’s still not head down, they’ll do an ultrasound and then we’ll have the option to either have a c-section or try to manually turn him. LL also made the remark that he’s a “big boy,” measuring quite long from head to rump. This was great news to Baby Daddy. I’m just hoping for a small head.

Every day the reality that I will have a child to look after and raise and be a mother to becomes more real. Over the weekend I received a lot of encouragement and advice regarding my giant baby. Some of it was unintentional and simply inspiration by observation. It’s so fascinating to watch different styles of parenting and log away behaviors I hope to repeat.

Cousins. Photo Credit: Karen

It was especially encouraging to be around all these great mamas after hearing about this 8 year old girl last week and her mother giving her botox injections for beauty pageants. If you haven’t already seen it, you can watch it here:

At first this news story made me so angry. My heart hurt for this young girl and her loss of childhood innocence. But then I wondered what kind of childhood her mother had and her own self esteem issues. Hopefully all this publicity will illicit some sort of positive response and compassionate help. It’s also just another reminder of the great responsibility that comes along with having a child. Parents often talk about the younger generation as if they didn’t have anything to do with it. I hope I continually remember that it’s within my control to demonstrate good values and common sense. The best we can do is try.

Say hello.

