Braxton Rapping Baby Squash

Last night at about 1am I woke up feeling a very odd twinge in my abdomen. After trying to ignore it for 20 minutes, I finally got out of bed and realized I was having contractions. I wouldn’t say I panicked, but I did briefly entertain the thought that this could be it. Fortunately the interweb told me that these lovely spasms are, of course, Braxton Hicks contractions or false labor and that I should drink some water and go back to bed.

I had heard of Braxton Hicks before, but I didn’t think they would be so uncomfortable so soon. I called Mom this morning after feeling these pseudo period cramps for an hour and she said, “Yup. It gets worse.”

So, a shout out to my body for preparing for labor, but also a “thanks but no thanks” because it’s not all that comfortable and I value my sleep.

In other news, Baby Baer is the size of a squash (according to thebump.com) which hardly seems like a good comparison but I’ll take it. He is very active these days, especially getting his groove on when we play loud, inappropriate-for-children music in the car. If this baby comes out rapping, I blame his father.

One comment

  1. When I first read your text when I woke up this morning, I first panicked thinking I had missed the birth and then it dawned on me that the baby’s name might be Braxton and your autocorrect phone spelled hiccups wrong and made it Hicks. It was a traumatic experience thinking that I missed my nephew Braxton’s birthday as he came out hiccuping. I hope I’m not such an idiot on the actual day of the birth or I will miss it.

Say hello.

