Meet Aunt Zoë

I have the best sister-in-law. Her name is Zoë. She has many talents, most of which are showcased on her blog Whole Eats & Whole Treats where she demonstrates the art of cooking, baking, and eating responsibly and healthfully while having fun. She’s also pretty crafty.

I love Zoë because even though we are different in many ways, we share a spirit of laughter and honesty and I know we can talk about anything even if we disagree. She also had the joy of going first and popping out two great kids for me to cuddle and love and learn about motherhood with.

In the recent tradition of  brief 10 Question Interviews with Baby Daddy and Grandma and Grandpa Baker, here are Aunt Zoë’s answers to life about motherhood and Baby Baer.

1.  Jada is three years old and Tage is one. Can you remember a life before kids? I’m sure it was much quieter.

Life before kids? What’s that?! Ha, actually, yes, I do remember it. Very well. A lot of days I want to go back but then I remember that I’d probably get a job and I hate jobs. Staying home with rambunctious children is better than leaving the house every day.

2. What’s the best part about having children?

The hilarious things they say. And being needed. That has it’s drawbacks, too, but I love being needed. Gives me something constructive to do. Then, when everyone is happily eating their oatmeal in the morning, you’ll look up at your family and get tears in your eyes because it’s just so perfect. I did that the other day. All the fights and screaming are worth it when you have one of those moments.

3. Any special thoughts about having another nephew? I bet you’re excited that I will have to get up early and never have any fun again.

Oh yeah. I’m excited alright! You will call me crying about seeing 6:48am and I’ll laugh. Just kidding! But about that nephew. I can’t wait to see how he and Tage play and the crazy animal hunting games they’ll come up with.

4. Please tell me that birth is special and wonderful and not really that bad.

It is if you get that long needle thing poked in your spine! No really, I did enjoy my births (because of said needle). And I truly loved that first moment of holding the little one. Cherish their tiny little selves. They really grow up so fast. I know everyone says that. But it’s so true!

5. Any predictions about the arrival of Baby Baer?

I think you better go to the hospital as soon as labor starts. He’s going to come quick. Or I actually have no idea what I’m talking about. I’m not a good predictor.

6.  What’s the best thing about having a little boy?

Their sense of adventure. But that’s also the worst thing.

7. Do you think I’m ready? I don’t feel ready. I’ll probably have to call you every day.

Oh please call! I won’t mind one bit. You are quite ready enough. The fact that you are excited says it all. If you weren’t excited, that’d be a problem. And as for knowing what to do, it’ll come to you. If not, please call. I won’t mind one bit :)

8. What do you think this kid will be like?

Spunky. He’ll have his father’s long fingers and his mother’s beautiful eyes.

9. Any helpful suggestions for new parents?

This is the worst question. Do I have to answer it?

Ummm, just try to be relaxed about it. Nothing goes perfectly when children are around but that’s what makes it exciting. And don’t be too hard on yourself when you do mess up. Easier said than done, I know, but you’ll enjoy parenting much more if you can do that.

10. What is your greatest wish for Baby Baer?

That he’ll be happy and healthy. That’s a lame answer but it’s all I’ve got. This little interview wore me out. Maybe I ought to go nap with Tage…

7 comments

  1. Katy! Your dad got me started on your blog. And the funny thing is, I have seen your sister in laws blog before! I read several blogs with that kind of cooking! so, I subscribed to hers too!
    Can’t wait till your baby is here!

Say hello.

