Goodbye Trimester Two

Today marks the official end of Trimester Two, a substantial milestone in the pregnancy and a positive step toward the debut of Baby Baer. According to Dr. Internet, baby is about the size of an eggplant (or around 15 inches) and weighs about 2 pounds. His favorite activities include sleeping and bouncing off the walls of my uterus like a 1990s screensaver.

The following is a brief update on our lives at the end of Trimester Two.

What We’re Reading

Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy

It’s a Boy: Women Writers on Raising Sons, edited by Andrea J. Buchanan

How to Talk to Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk by Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish

NurtureShock: New Thinking About Children by Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman

What We’re Doing

This past Friday during a routine OB visit, I underwent a standard glucose test to check for gestational diabetes. The concentrated juice one must drink for the test is unpleasant (unless you enjoy melting freeze pops and drinking them as a beverage), but I am happy to report that we’re both just fine. Our midwife assures me that everyone is measuring correctly with good strong heartbeats.

Austin began coaching track again this month at LMH, training kids for the high jump. Despite the hectic schedule, he really enjoys both the kids and the sport.

Baby Baer attended his first concert (front row!) last week on Saint Patty’s Day when we went to see The Wailin’ Jennys at Messiah College in Grantham. It has been a life goal of mine to see this (spectacular) trio and I was not disappointed. They were amazing live and blew us away with their vocal and instrumental skills. I think the baby enjoyed it too, based on all the kicking.

After the concert they were available to sign merchandise and I was feeling brave and asked if they would sign my belly. They thought this was a really funny idea but said no–they didn’t want to hurt the baby! I would have been embarrassed, but I had just walked into the men’s bathroom 5 minutes before and stood there for a while wondering all these burly women in suits were facing the wall.

Sign my belly?

Haha…no.

A few weeks ago, Austin and I took his brothers to the family cabin for the weekend in the mountains of West Virginia. After spending the majority of time indoors on Saturday while they hiked all day, I made up my mind on Sunday morning at the last minute to accompany them on a hike to Big Schloss. The hike turned out to be pretty physically strenuous on my 6 month pregnant body, but I’m proud to say I made it to the top (thanks to all the encouragement from Austin and his brothers).

Top of Big Schloss

And finally, acceptance letter #2 came this Saturday from Drexel Medical inviting Austin into the class of 2015. Though Drexel is not his first choice, it was exciting to be accepted into another medical school–especially one in Pennsylvania. No decisions will be made until this Spring, but it’s definitely something to mull over. Next Saturday we will attend an Accepted Students Open House at Drexel to get a better feel for the school and community. We’ll keep you posted.

What I’m Feeling

So far, my complaints about pregnancy are fairly common and not all that dramatic. In fact, for the most part I really enjoy it. I did have some weird symptoms this past trimester that I was not expecting. For one, my eyelashes keep falling out! Very alarming. I also was not expecting my feet to swell up so much, definitely my least favorite part of this ordeal.

As I head into the Third Trimester, I admit that both my body and emotional state have begun to, once again, tire. Trimester Two was a welcome break from the exhaustion this past fall, but the past few days have proved that the pregnancy is definitely changing. Examples include staying in bed for 12 hours, crying over my upcoming birthday, and continually making unconscious and embarrassing errors (like walking into the men’s room and sending emails to the wrong people).

Over the next three months, my hope is to keep my wits about me while I prepare for a new baby, a new location, and a new life.  God bless Austin for his continued patience and humor whilst I act like a lunatic.

7 comments

  1. This is a great post!! Very thorough and informing, I love it!

    A while ago I walked into the men’s bathroom too. When I saw the first guy I thought “oh, that is embarrassing, he is in the wrong bathroom!” When I saw the second guy, I turned bright red and bolted for the door.

  2. Hi Kate, I really enjoy reading your blog and wanted to say I love the book “How to Talk so Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk.” Annoying long title, but the suggestions are pure gold. I use them all the time with families at work and my own friends, family and husband :) Best of luck to you and Austin!

  3. Baby Baer goes on a hike! So fun. You put me to shame as a pregnant lady. You could usually find me sitting on the couch eating a bowl of buttered noodles.
    How did you like, It’s a Boy: Women Writers on Raising Sons ?

    1. Ohh Bec–I’ve had my share of buttered noodles. Sometimes I eat Ramen for breakfast.

      The book was really good! Exactly what I needed. The stories were funny and honest–I recommend it :)

Say hello.

